Welcome to Vancouver – beyond the Seawall

After 24 hours of flying that honestly felt like 240, I arrived in Vancouver!! The nerves of visiting a new place quickly disappeared when I set foot in the appropriately decorated nature themed airport (water falls and ponds and fountains) and then boarded their excellent skytrain system which took me from the airport straight to the centre of the city for only $10 (Perth take note).

Arriving in metro Vancouver felt like I had just arrived to a cross between Melbourne, Downtown somewhere and a forest. One street you are walking past the hotel in which the royals stay, the next you are walking past some hip breweries and bars and the next you are standing looking out at the ocean with a wall of trees behind you.

  
One of Vancouver’s many highlights is Stanley Park. Surrounded by an 8.8km Seawall the once military base is now home to the Vancouver aquarium, totem poles, lookouts a rose garden and generally breathtaking views. The Seawall is a popular biking and walking route for many, and as a tourist looking for impressive scenery I found myself leaving the hop on/ hop off bus so I could take my time and snap some photos.

  
An educational horse and carriage ride took us past the Lion gate bridge built by the Guinness family (yes, the beer makers) and told us about all Stanley Parks features from the 9 o’clock gun, to the Seawall, the aquarium and the wind damaged trees.

  
After thoroughly exploring Stanley Park, I walked back past the waterfront and Canada place, past a giant Lego orca whale and saw all the Canada preparations for the 1st. I then rose 550ft at the Vancouver lookout for sweeping views of the gorgeous city.

  
  
Day 1 in Vancouver was amazing. I can’t wait for day 2!!

Leave a comment