Back to the Beach

Samara, a touristy beach town, located in Guanacaste, on the Pacific Ocean was our final stop on the adventure tour. Filled with vegan restaurants, pizza places, trendy beach bars and road side clothing stores it was apparent that we were going to cram a lot into the next two days.

Our first full day there was action packed. We were up early to jump into kayaks and paddle to Isle Chora, just off Samara beach. Holding my own in the single kayak we made it to our rest stop in about 45 minutes. A beautiful white sand island (filled with iguanas…) we rested before heading back to Samara.

P1000799

After a quick, delicious lunch at vegan burger bar, Luv Burger, we headed back to the beach for surfing lessons!! After a short lesson on how to stand on the (very long) board we jumped into the ocean. We quickly debunked the myth that all Australians can surf, many of us fell straight into the water. I finally stood up on my third attempt and although it was short lived my fourth attempt at standing was longer. For the next hour we rode waves into the shore and paddled back for the next one.

P1000804

Shortly after our lessons ended we had a two hour yoga sessions. I had obviously forgotten about my lack of flexibility and my inability to do yoga when I signed up but I still attempted most of the poses (unsuccessfully). About an hour into it, during a child’s pose, my yoga session turned into a meditation/nap session but I still came out of the session feeling relaxed.

That night we had the most amazing steak at the Lagarto Steak House. $17.50 for a 300gram ribeye. It was quite possibly the best thing I have ever eaten. I am possibly considering moving to Samara just so I can eat here regularly.

The next day we had a free day which we filled with massages, shopping, food and relaxing before we all headed out as a group for last night drinks! We met up with some other volunteers from our project and had a delicious meal at a gorgeous bar and restaurant located right on the beach.

Today we headed back to Heredia, where it all began, for the last night before we begin our mammoth journey home.

Leave a comment